Truth Joy Beauty

Just my thoughts and reflections about living and loving in the post-post modern age.

The joy of reading

Ok, you Educated Ratbag you…here you go, my long promised blog on my favourite childhood reads. Somewhat inspired by your recent post on one of your favourites, A Pilgrim’s Progress. 

My mother would tell you when I was living at home, she never saw much of me because I’d always be either tucked up in my room with a book, or if the weather was temperate, out in the back yard somewhere reading. Without books I think my childhood would have been quite boring and somewhat lonelier…but not with a book to keep you company.

One of the first books I can ever remember reading all the way through as a young and still impressionable girl was Anna Sewell’s Black Beauty I was obsessed with horses at the time and so was enchanted by this novel with it’s subtle critique of man’s questionable superiority over animals and beasts which many took for granted at the time.

My imagination was also fired by one of the writers you mention in your afore mentioned post, C.S. Lewis’s The Lion, The Witch and The WardrobeThe way Lewis was able to immerse his reader in the world on Edward, Lucy, Peter and Susan almost from the first page was the mark of a master writer. I first read this book when I was no more than 11 and then went on to read the rest of the series, much to my delight. I spent many a weekend immersed in Narnia and in a way, I think I have never left.

Another book which stood out for me, and one I probably need to re-read as the details are now feint and watery, is The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett but I still remember the mood, and that it instilled a desire in me want to climb every wall I came across to see what was on the other side.

These are only some that come readily to mind. I also remember reading every one of  the Mary Poppins series, I would have been 8 or 9 at the time, and have looked at babies suspiciously ever since, Enid Blyton was also a fave for a while as was Trixie Beldon when I was older. Other books have inspired me but this post is specifically related to my earliest reading memories. Perhaps I will write one about my other favourite books another time. But for now, it’s back to the real world 😦

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

