Truth Joy Beauty

Just my thoughts and reflections about living and loving in the post-post modern age.

Reflections on friendships

I just spent a lovely weekend in Melbourne catching up with an old, dear friend whom I have known now for 7 years. When I thought of that it struck me as surprising that time has flown so fast. I knew her when I was living in Brisbane and going through a very messy, traumatic divorce. It has also struck me as surprising that almost 5 years have passed since I moved back to Sydney from Brisbane.

Five years in which a lot has changed and I have have learned a lot. I have lost some friends and gained new ones, and some have stayed in the fold. I also met some new people and was privvy to some gossip about people and situations I know nothing about, and don’t care to. But for some reason, people feel comfortable talking about personal things around me. Perhaps it’s because I don’t really know these people and chances are I will never see them again, however, the sisterhood sometimes allows all entrance regardless of connection, based purely on gender. Sometimes, it’s just nice to hang with some chicks.  It’s surprising how much you can have in common with people you hardly know sometimes. Well, perhaps not so surprising..as humans, we all go through similar things. Sometimes, just the names and locations are different.

On the way back in the cab, my friend and I were discussing the weekend’s events and how, she was happy to maintain some distance from that ‘group’ even though she enjoyed their company from time to time. Gossip, is still gossip and when it doesn’t involve you, or people you know, you see it for what it is. People commenting and involving themselves in other people’s lives for no other reason other than entertainment disguised as concern. We all do it however…but from now on. I will be more mindful of what I say about other people’s conc.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

