Truth Joy Beauty

Just my thoughts and reflections about living and loving in the post-post modern age.

Love, it’s not a fairy-tale

So, since I moved over to WordPress I’ve been going through my archives on truthjoybeauty.blogspot.com and simply copying and pasting my favourite posts over to here, with the intention of closing down my blogger account when I’ve done so. However, I must say the experience has been kind of interesting. Reading posts from a few years ago has bought back with it many memories and has allowed me to reflect on the journey I’ve been on these last few years.
When I started my blog, way back in 2009 I was newly separated and had just discovered the “wacky world of internet dating“, marvelling at how much things had changed since I was last single, 8 years or so prior. Now I am in a relationship that has its challenges but is probably the most rewarding, most loving relationship I have ever been in. Sometimes, when reading those old posts I can’t help but think of that John Lennon lyric from his beautiful song, Real Love:

All my little plans and schemes
Lost like some forgotten dream
Seems like all I really was doing
Was waiting for you

But as usual, I digress. What I have learned is that relationships and love is not just some happy ever after. And that like being single and dating, brings its own challenges and risks. I thought I had it tough then, as Tim Rogers laments in Beautiful Girl…”you think it’s so hard, alone in the world.” To love, is to risk. To really love is to in a sense, forget your singularity and to put the relationship first, above all else. That to me is real love. And that, is no fairy-tale.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

